Men Without Hats


Men Without Hats return with a collection of 5 new cover songs – Again (Part 1) for release on September 24th, 2021 and 12 new original compositions – Again (Part 2) available in 2022.

Led by original founding members Ivan and Colin Doroschuk, Men Without Hats have been rounded out since 2016 by industry veteran Sho Murray, and augmented on this record by Colin’s daughter, soprano Sahara Sloan.

The album was recorded on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, on top of the Malahat Mountain overlooking the Pacific Ocean.

The choice of cover songs on Again (Part 1) – Lou Reed’s “Satellite of Love,” Mott the Hoople’s “All the Young Dudes,” The Tragically Hip’s “Blow at High Dough,” and The Rolling Stones’ “2000 Light Years From Home” – provide a rare glimpse into Men Without Hats’ tastes and influences, as they even re-invent their most iconic hit (“No Friends of Mine”).

The first single off the EP is a song called “No Friends of Mine,” which is a reimagining of “Safety Dance.” “After the filming of the “Safety Dance” video, the jester and the crazy blonde girl settle down in West Kington. He becomes the mayor of the town, and she stays at home to raise their family. 40 years later, I go back to visit them, and this is the soundtrack,” says lead singer and songwriter Ivan.

With a mixture of the latest digital technology and the best of the analog world (including an actual prophet 5 synthesizer that was used during “The Safety Dance” recording session), Men Without Hats continue their voyage into the world of synth-pop, with a sound forged in the past and hardened by their life experience and commitment to the future.

For the past 10 years, Men Without Hats have toured the world with the cream of 80’s royalty, playing for crowds in North and South America, Europe, Scandinavia, Jamaica, Australia, Mexico and South Africa, reaching even more people and places than the first time around. Their crossover sound and message are resonating with a new generation of fans eager to understand and appreciate the 80’s influences in their own current brand of pop.

In conjunction with the 40th anniversary of their album Rhythm of Youth, Men Without Hats have had two of their songs – “The Safety Dance” and “Pop Goes The World” – inducted into the Canadian Songwriter’s Hall of Fame.

Some other recent highlights include Jimmy Fallon and The Roots performing “The Safety Dance” on the one world concert live stream, and Alaska airlines using it as the soundtrack to their new 80’s-themed advertising campaign video.

Originally from Montreal but relocated to Canada’s west coast for the past 20 years, Men Without hats have even seen their adoptive province’s BC-transit use “The Safety Dance” for their new travel safety video as well.

Since their formation in 1978, Men Without Hats have been at the forefront of popular electronic music, creating worldwide anthems of joy and positivity that have weathered all musical styles and trends, mirroring and recounting the mysteries and challenges of the space and time we live in.

Now, as we approach the dawn of a new era, it’s the perfect time to listen to Men Without Hats… AGAIN!




Tag could not be found!