We Are The City


We Are the City have created two new albums, which exist as both stand-alone LPs and interconnected companion pieces. The first, AT NIGHT, is out October 5, to be followed by RIP in 2019.

They spent two years crafting the sweeping RIP, an emotive prog-pop opus that is filled with sweeping anthems and intimate examinations of mortality. RIP was masterfully mixed by JUNO-winner Matty Green (The Weeknd, Frank Ocean, Paul McCartney) and Steve Bays (Hot Hot Heat, Mounties).

By contrast, AT NIGHT was written and entirely self-mixed in just two weeks during a burst of untethered creativity. Using leftover soundscapes from RIP as building blocks, the project soon took on its own identity, full of warped crescendos and delicate comedowns. The album is joyful and intentionally imperfect. Whether getting a guest appearance from Canadian hip-hop star Shad (who sings here, rather than rapping) or overlaying gossamer melodies with static-soaked experimentation, this is the sound of lightning in a bottle.

Both albums feature 11 songs, and they act as foils: there’s the meticulous, mournful RIP and the scrappy, spontaneous AT NIGHT. After a decade together as a band, these albums reflect the full scope of We Are the City’s anything-goes artistic process.

The two records are best experienced together. They feel paradoxically different and similar. One starting point, two ending points.


http://auteurresearch.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/WeAreTheCity2018-2_CREDIT-KirstenHuculiak-wpcf_500x500.jpg http://auteurresearch.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/WeAreTheCity2018-1_CREDIT-KirstenHuculiak-wpcf_500x500.jpg http://auteurresearch.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/ATNIGHT-medres-wpcf_500x500.jpg




Last Day Deaf feature We Are The City’s video for “OUR SPECTACULAR AND COMMON LIVES” by We Are The City in episode 12 of Indie seduction!


Grab a spoon and hear “DARK HORIZON” by We Are The City in Cereal + Sounds’ Bowl 78!


We Are The City’s “MID TEMPO DRAMA” is a masterpiece of unique beauty – hear it in Last Day Deaf’s Mixtape#99!